Andrei Arlovski talks with MMAmania.com

MMAmania.com did an interview with Andrei Arlovski this week. He’s in my top 5 favorite fighters in the UFC and it seriously pains me to see the UFC treating him like this.

I’ve been thinking about this situation and it seems like it would be in the UFC’s best interests to offer Andrei a fight for 82 or 83 happens before April 15th. Arlovski is their asset and he’s a great one at that and for them to just let his contract expire doesn’t make a whole lot of sense to me. I mean do they want to drive him to another organization? I don’t think so. So here’s essentially my question, does the UFC have a precedent of letting its fighters’ contracts expire with fights left on them?

I would think that they don’t. And so I tend to think that Arlovski will get a fight offer in the next week or so (with 82 and 83 fast approaching) against either Cro Cop or Kongo since they’ll probably want him to lose (to drive down his price and make him less attractive to another organization) and plus Arlovski isn’t going to accept a fight against some can.

And just to add another thought — I think Arlovski is going to come back better than ever and when he wins that fight in April and becomes a free agent I think he comes back to the UFC becomes he has a long history with the org. and plus the UFC is the UFC, there really is no other org. that can compete with them.

Leave a Reply

