2008 Winter Wonderland

I thought the NHL’s first excursion outdoors in the United States was a great success and probably couldn’t have been any better. I loved that it was in snowy and windy conditions, in Buffalo and featuring one of the league’s brightest young stars, if not the brightest, in Pittsburgh’s Sidney Crosby.

The snow only made for beautiful shots of the players and of the game and NBC did a wonderful job of capitalizing on the opportunity. I thought their coverage of the game was fantastic and I’m really glad that I had the chance to sit down and watch it and for the rest of my life I’ll be able to say where I was when the first outdoor hockey game took place in the U.S. and when the Patriots went undefeated to become just the 2nd team in NFL history to do so, all in the same week too.

I thought what was so great about the game was that it brought hockey back to its roots. That’s where the sport is learned, on frozen ponds in the northeast, in the snow and wind, etc. and to see the NHL players out there in the conditions like kids back in the day was just great. I think it should become an annual thing. And for everyone out there who is voicing negative reviews on it because the ice conditions were bad and they had to stop play is just plain stupid. Honestly. Enjoy the Winter Wonderland for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

