Top 25 Comedies in past 25 years

This is a post generated in response to EW’s similar title which, in my opinion, made some drastic omissions and really got me to thinking after reading thru the comments section. A couple of notes before I get to the list… Obviously, because this is my blog and I alone create the content, thus it is all done from my own perspective. My taste is definitely more Coen Brothers than Wes Andersen, Jim Carrey than Mike Myers (although you will find one of his movies on the list). Also, having never seen A Fish Called Wanda, This is Spinal Tap or Dazed and Confused, you won’t see those movies on here. I consider myself a movie buff especially on comedies and have not heard much about these films. However, I have made it a mental note to check them out in the near future, believe me. My favorite comedians of all time in no particular order are: Jim Carrey, Chevy Chase, Steve Martin, Chris Farley, Bill Murray, Will Ferrell, Adam Sandler, Ben Stiller, John Candy, Robin Williams, Vince Vaughn, Dan Akroyd, Eddie Murphy and of course Richard Pryor. So you will see all featured on my list and not many others. One last note, true comedies get more of a look from me than say comedy/dramas like Little Miss Sunshine and Fargo or comedy/actions like Beverly Hills Cop and Ghostbusters. This is a list of true comedies from 1983-2008. With all that said and without any further ado, here is the list beginning with No. 25 as is traditional…

25. Zoolander (2001)

24. Cable Guy (1996)

23. Trading Places (1984)

22. Raising Arizona (1987)

21. Uncle Buck (1989)

20. Austin Powers: Goldmember (2002)

19. Breakfast Club (1985)

18. Austin Powers: Man of Mystery (1997)

17. See No Evil, Hear No Evil (1989)

16. Tropic Thunder (2008)

15. Ocean’s 11 (2001)

14. Superbad (2007)

13. Christmas Vacation (1989)

12. 40-year-old Virgin (2005)

11. Tommy Boy (1995)

10. National Lampoon’s Vacation (1983)

9. Old School (2003)

8. Fletch (1985)

7. The Big Lebowski (1998)

6. Big Daddy (1999)

5. Anchorman (2004)

4. Planes, Trains, and Automobiles (1987)

3. Ace Ventura: Pet Detective (1992)

2. Wedding Crashers (2005)

1. Dumb & Dumber (1994)

I have to say that that was hard. I had to put in some of the classics like ‘Evil’, ‘Raising Arizona’, ‘Breakfast Club’, etc. where normally I might lean to perhaps funnier films like ‘There’s Something About Mary’ and ‘Napoleon Dynamite’. I’d also like to say that Martin Lawrence films are very underrated (almost put in National Security and Badboys) as are the Ocean’s movies which is why you see Ocean’s 11 on the list.

Please, feel free to comment. I partly did this to stir up debate as well as for the fun I had in composing the list. Needless to say, I’m going to be watching  a lot of comedies in the coming weeks and will refine my list in February. Maybe you can help with some selections?

Leave a Reply

