UFC 110 main card set for Australia

On the heels of a successful first foray into Memphis, TN with 107, the UFC officially announced six fights for its 110th pay-per-view event scheduled for February 21, 2010 in Sydney, Australia.

The main card will feature Antonio Rodrigo “Minotauro” Noguiera (32-5-1) and Cain Velasquez (7-0) pitted against each other in a critical heavyweight top contenders battle.

Co-featured is scheduled to be a middleweight fight between Wanderlei Silva (32-10-1) and the Manchester native Michael “The Count” Bisping (18-2) as they look to inch further towards the top of the heap in the 185 lb division.

Also scheduled for the main card are the following bouts: lightweight fight between Joe Stevenson (31-10) and George Sotiropoulos, light heavyweight Keith Jardine (14-6-1) and Ryan Bader (10-0) and heavyweights Mirko “Cro Cop” (25-7-2) and Ben Rothwell (30-7).

In other news, Shane Carwin writes on his website that he would absolutely be interested in fighting former heavyweight champ Frank Mir next.

Quoteworthy:

The main question I am getting is would I fight Frank? The answer is easy YES. I am not a fighter who decides who he fights, I fight who I am told to fight. I like it that way, I am not trying to build a legacy I am trying to fight the best fighters in the World and determine where I fit in. Mir is a multiple time Champion, who has been counted out more than Mike Tyson to only find himself right back at the top. He is a LEGEND of the sport and I would be honored to fight him.

Leave a Reply

