Mariners’ OF Greg Halman stabbed to death

Today was just a surreal day for me. By now most of you have probably heard about the passing of Seattle Mariners outfielder Greg Halman, 24, who was found dead early Monday morning at his home in Rotterdam, Netherlands victim of an apparent murder.

Life is an interesting phenomenon. I think we all have days like this where you wake up to devastating news and the rest of your day, perhaps even your week or month is left meaningless — you go about it in almost a haze.

Today was like that for me. While I didn’t know Greg personally, I guess I felt like I did having followed his career closely for the better part of the last three years.

As an avid Mariners fan I recognized Greg pretty early on as a talent that could soon be a major force in Safeco, one that would help carry the team to tremendous success in the near future. But then I got to see him play and I immediately was reminded of my idol, Ken Griffey Jr., with the passion in which he played and of course by his effervescent smile.

He only played in 44 games for the Mariners but every time he was put on the lineup card he gave it is all on the field. I’ll never forget a game this past season against the Chicago White Sox in which he went 4-for-5 with like three runs scored and two stolen bases when the rest of the team could do nothing against White Sox starter John Danks. His performance alone carried the team to a win. His talent just jumped off the screen at you.

A lot has already been written about Halman and the tragic end to his life and rather than try to expound on those thoughts, I’ll just send you to a couple pieces I found extremely moving.

Jeff Sullivan of Lookout Landing

Jim Caple ESPN.com

RIP, Greg. You will be missed.

Leave a Reply

