Mariners vs. Angels Lineups, Pre-game Notes: Cano scratched “not feeling well”

Just got down to Safeco Field after a ridiculous 60 min commute from Redmond thru Bellevue on I-405 to Seattle on I-90, apparently there was a bad accident that had all on ramps to I-90 West backed up for a mile around the interchange. Thanks for giving commuters a heads up WSDOT!

Anyways, the news at Safeco is RHP Taijuan Walker feels good after pitching three innings in his first rehab start since April 9, and Robinson Cano doesn’t, he was just scratched from the lineup card and will miss his first game of the 2014 season.

“I felt good, so I guess that’s No. 1, the most important thing,” Walker said. “Those weren’t the results I wanted . . . I felt off the first two innings, was rushing a little bit. Then in the third inning, I guess I just didn’t get locked in.”

Walker was hoping to command his fastball, but the rust showed and it was a struggle for him.

“(Wednesday) wasn’t that good . . . I threw a lot of cutters because my fastball wasn’t there,” said Walker. “Bullpen (Friday), all fastballs and curveballs, that’s it. Might throw some changeups, but no cutters . . . My next start, I won’t throw too many cutters, just fastballs. I’ll just be working on fastball command, make sure I’m locating down in the zone.”

That next start will be Monday in El Paso for the Tacoma Rainiers.

Meanwhile, Thursday’s starter is Brandon Maurer (1-3, 6.99 ERA) who somehow gets another start. You would think Maurer would need to show some drastic improvement over his last outing (4.1 IP 6H 6R 1BB 2SO vs. Houston) to stay on the 25-man roster, but I thought that two starts ago. So don’t go by me.

Here is the M’s lineup sans Cano for the first time this year. They will be taking on Angels’ RHP Matt Shoemaker who was recalled today and an Angels’ lineup sans Albert Pujols.

Mariners (26-26)
1. James Jones (L) cf
2. Nick Franklin (s) 2b
3. Michael Saunders (L) rf
4. Justin Smoak (s) 1b
5. Kyle Seager (L) 3b
6. Stefen Romero dh
7. Dustin Ackley (L) lf
8. Mike Zunino c
9. Brad Miller (L) ss

Leave a Reply

